History and Accomplishments of The Andersonville Guild

The Andersonville guild was formed for community development by beautifying the Town of Andersonville and "turning back the clock" in the town to make it look much as it did during the War Between the States. Currently, approximately 170 families of the area are members of the Andersonville Guild. All money raised through dues ($15 a year per family), auctions, entertainment, and festivals go toward beautification, maintenance, operations, and restoration projects in the Town of Andersonville. In the years since the Guild was started, the following projects have been successfully undertaken and completed.

  • Restoration of Andersonville Town Hall

  • Purchase of depot, relocation of depot, and renovation of depot into Welcome Center and Town Hall

  • Relocation and restoration of St. James Pennington Church

  • Development of Pioneer Farm Park

  • Conception and completion of Andersonville Mall Project

  • Acquisition and opening of Railroad Coach to Public

  • Enlargement of Pioneer Farm area

  • Building a covered Stage in Pioneer Farm area

  • Building of Barracks in Pioneer Farm Area

  • Moving Iron  bandstand from Miona Springs to Andersonville

  • Restoration of Covered Wagon, Stage Coach and Railroad Coach

  • Relocation and restoration of Possum Trot Postal Station (circa 1830)

  • Moving historic Lanier Iron Mule Watering Trough to Andersonville

  • Conservation of Town Museum Holdings

  • Acquiring and restoring Railroad Caboose

  • Moving two small log cabins and a historic one-room schoolhouse to Pioneer Farm

  • Re-roofing a 125 year old log barn in Pioneer Farm

  • Buying and renovating the building housing The Drummer Boy Civil War Museum

  • Leasing and maintaining the Gerald Lamby Drummer Boy Museum Collection.

Current Services and Activities of the Organization:

  1. Operation and maintenance of Andersonville Welcome Center and Museum

  2. Operation and maintenance of 6-acre Pioneer Farm - a living history experience open daily free to the public. The Pioneer farm boasts an authentically furnished 100 year old cabin, water powered grist mill, well-equipped blacksmith shop with Bob Welliver, master blacksmith, demonstrating that old art most weekends, a sugar cane mill, log barns, farm animals, a picnic area and public restrooms. Pioneer Farm depicts what life was like on a one-man farm of the mid-1800's.

  3. Operation and maintenance of historic St. James Pennington Log church, open daily to the public.

  4. Operation and maintenance of The Drummer Boy Civil War Museum, open four days a week and by appointment.

  5. Welcoming and touring to historic and educational sites, busloads of school children, Boy Scout and Girl Scout groups, senior citizens groups, high school and college history classes, military groups, POW organization groups, and sightseeing tourist groups.

Welcome Center/Drummer Boy Museum


Open Seven Days a Week 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Closed New Years Day, Easter, July 4, Thanksgiving, Christmas

Join The Tourism Organization That Encourages Tourist Visitation In A Wide Area Including All Of Sumter County And Macon County.


Support The Andersonville Guild

Send your name, address and phone number along with a check payable to:

Andersonville Guild

Mail to:
The Andersonville Guild
P.O. Box 6
Andersonville, GA 31709
Phone: 229-924-2558
Fax: 229-924-2558
Individual Memberships $ 25
Family Memberships $ 30
Business Memberships $ 35




Click here to contact The Andersonville Guild via email.


Click here for directions to Andersonville.


Andersonville Civil War Village on Facebook







WWW http://www.andersonvillegeorgia.com